Administrative Structure

The Directorate of the Library and Information Centre of the University of Ioannina consist of three departments with the listed functions:

Administration, Finance and Acquisitions Department

The Department is responsible for the management of the library staff, numerous library services, safety of the building, administrative and secretarial support for the various committees, promotion of miscellaneous activities of the library, imbursement of the library suppliers, access to electronic scientific journals and databases, etc.

Service and Collections Department

The Department is responsible for the operation and provision of:

  • borrowing,
  • ILL,
  • distribution of scientific articles,
  • use of infrastructures for the visually impaired,
  • information and documentation services to users of the Library and
  • user Education

It is also responsible for the operation of the reading rooms, the organization of collections housed both inside and outside the central library stacks, the organization and use of special collections.

Department of Processing and E-Services

The Department is responsible for the processing of material of every form using the IT systems of the Library, the processing of books and any other material.

It is responsible for the proper operation of information systems and the LAN and wireless network of the Library and the systematic back up and security of copies of acquired databases, the development of the Library website; for the implementation and operation of the Institutional Repository of the University of Ioannina and the manufacturing, distribution and management of digitized documents of all forms that are produced from the collections of the Library.